FAQs > Celiac Disease > What is gluten and why can’t people with celiac disease have it?

Search the FAQ for entries containing:

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and contaminated oats – specifically gliadin – that celiacs are unable to process and creates the autoimmune reaction.  A celiac’s body views gluten as poison and devotes all of its efforts to getting the gluten out of their system as soon as possible.   Gluten is most obviously found in breads and pastas, but it is also used as a food additive and can be found in everything from soy sauce to lip balm.